Just a Brief Word from Our Sponsors

No time for a proper Diatribe and poem tonight, on account of the Academy Awards.   I mean, I’m technically posting something, but even I have to admit this barely counts…

Regardless, the show was great, and I even had a chance to watch one last movie this afternoon before the ceremony:  Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.  It was really good.  I’ll try to talk about it tomorrow.  I’ll write about the Oscars, too.  I just don’t have it in me to give these topics what they deserve at this point in the evening.

As for the obligatory nightly poem…  I haven’t done one of these in years, but they are technically a form of formal poetry…

                                                                              |           |                                                                             

Celebrate

Celebrate fiction!
Give awards to those who make
All such works of art.

                                                                              |           |                                                                             

Written while listening to Hammock’s Oblivion Hymns (2013).