What Now?

This one is inspired by the final episode of Loki, which I just finished watching.  No spoilers, but…  I have to say, I am surprisingly disappointed.  Maybe I’m missing something, but after five exceptional episodes, I found the finale to be convoluted, anticlimactic and filled with out-of-character performances and unexplained twists…  I don’t know.  But at least now I’m free to rove the Internet in search of spoiler-filled clarifications.

                                                                              |           |                                                                             

When?

When all is said and done and dust,
What next is there for us to do?
Without a war, our weapons rust.
This ending came out of the blue,
And though we spent our lives in wait
For our chance, to follow through                        
Would be to claim a heavy weight,
A burden far too vast to bear.
Our victory would devastate,
And cost the ones for whom we care
Too much. We must retreat, and then
Perhaps we shall escape despair.
We will return, and once again
Fight on.  We simply know not when.

                                                                              |           |                                                                             

Written while listening to Arcana’s Le Serpent Rouge (2004).